The Premier League restates its strong disapproval towards the proposals for a European Super League.

The European Court of Justice (ECJ) has given a positive outcome to the European Super League (ESL), which has prompted A22 Sports, the organization behind the initiative, to promptly introduce revised proposals for a tournament taking place during the middle of the week. These proposals now feature both men’s and women’s competitions, placing a strong emphasis on meritocracy and eliminating the concept of permanent membership.

Despite this progress, numerous clubs throughout Europe have rejected the ESL concept. Among them are prominent clubs Bayern Munich and Manchester United, the latter being one of the original 12 clubs that initially joined in 2021 but later withdrew their support. The Premier League has expressed its stance on the issue, emphasizing that the ECJ’s decision does not signify support for the Super League initiative. In a statement, the Premier League restated its refusal of the concept, highlighting the significance of fans and their resistance against a tournament that would break the bond between domestic and European football.

Additionally, the Premier League reiterated its dedication to the values of fair competition, which it believes are fundamental to the triumph of both national and international club tournaments. These values encompass the promotion and demotion system, qualification based on merit, and the longstanding rivalries and traditions associated with domestic football. Starting from 2021, the Premier League, together with other football organizations, has made its regulations and management in this domain more robust. The league is still willing to participate in productive discussions with all relevant parties to safeguard and improve the equilibrium between domestic and international club football.

The announcement of the proposed breakaway league consisting of 12 teams sent shockwaves across the global football community in April 2021. At first, six Premier League clubs, namely Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United, and Tottenham, agreed to join. Atletico Madrid, Barcelona, and Real Madrid, along with AC Milan, Inter Milan, and Juventus from Serie A, united together. Nevertheless, the proposals encountered extensive criticism and eventually crumbled when most of the participating clubs retracted their backing.

Leave a Reply